How to Master & Dominate Traffic Sources P3

Part 1 – Introduction
Part 2 – The Different Traffic Sources
Part 3 – The Bidding Process

Introductions are out the way and it’s time to dig into the good stuff.

I’ve tried to make the concepts as simple as possible, but it may still be confusing if you’ve never run paid traffic before. Take some action and re-read the posts later once you have some experience. I’m here to teach how to dominate paid traffic, not how to make $10 a day with adsense blogs.


Every network has their own algorithm for how they deliver traffic. The right bid price so that you’re profitable, getting the high quality traffic, and still getting volume. Bid too low and you won’t get any volume. Bid too high and it eats into your profit margins. It’s a balancing act.

The Relationship Between Bids, Click-through Rate, & Volume

Lets do some simple math to understand how some places work. Remember there are 1000+ places to buy traffic from and each one does things a little different; I’m trying to show you the fundamentals of how it should work.


The ad world is rule by a metric called eCPM which stands for “effective cost per thousand impressions.” It’s a fancy way of saying how much the website makes for every 1000 times the ad is shown.

eCPM = (Total Earnings / Impressions ) * 1000

Imagine a real world scenario.

You have a small blog about how to make money online. It gets about 30,000 views a month (impressions). An advertiser offers to pay you $500 for a square ad on your size bar.

eCPM = ($500 total earnings / 30,000 impressions) *1000 = $16.67

Larger traffic sources and websites work off of an auction model which maximizes their eCPM. 

There’s typically 3 ways to buy traffic: CPM vs. CPC vs Flat Rate.


Some places that work off a CPM model include media buying & a lot of adult-oriented traffic sources,

When we bid on a CPM basis, it means we’re paying for 1,000 impressions. With CPM, we take all the risk. What does that mean? It means if I pay for 10,000 impressions and no one clicks the ads, I still have to pay for it.

That’s why with CPM it’s important that you have ads with a very high click-through rate.

How do traffic sources allocate their volume? Whichever advertisers they can make the most money from. It’s pretty simple, usually whoever bids the most will get the most traffic.

Mr A bids .45cpm
Mr B bids .35cpm
Mr C bids .65cpm

Mr C will get most of your traffic because he’s bidding the most. If you’re selling a car, you’re going to sell it to the highest bidder right?

One X factor is some places will give you a “bonus” for a higher daily budget.

Mr A bids .45cpm and has a budget of $3,000
Mr B bids .40cpm and has a budget of $5,000

Even though Mr A has a higher bid, Mr B might get more traffic because he’s more valuable to them with his higher spend limit.

To get more traffic with a CPM bidding model, just increase your bids and up that daily spend limit.

Cost Per Click Bidding 

Things are a little more complicated with CPC bidding because they factor in your click-through rate in their formula.

It’s not as simple as whoever bids the most, gets the most traffic. Lets illustrate with some simple math. Imagine 3 advertisers are competing for the same placement.

Mr A is bidding $0.75 a click. His ad is shown 140000 times, but it only clicked by people 600 times. His click-through rate (CTR %) is .43. The website earnings is $450 from Mr A. 

Mr A eCPM = ( $450 / 130000) / *1000 =  $3.21

Mr B is bidding $0.50 a click. His ad is shown 100000 times, but it is clicked 700 times. His click-through rate (CTR %) is .7%. The website earnings is $350 from Mr B.

Mr B eCPM = ($350 / 100000) *1000 = $3.50

Mr C is bidding $0.45 a click. His ad is shown 100000 times, but it is clicked 900 times. His click-through rate (CTR%) is .9%. The website earnings is $405 from Mr C.

Mr C eCPM = ($405 / 100000) *1000 = $4.05

What’s the point of all the numbers and nerdy formulas?

You can see that Mr C was actually bidding the lowest, but because of his amazing click-through rate, the website actually makes the most money from him (he has the highest eCPM). They are going to give him more traffic even though the other guys are bidding more.

On a CPC bidding model, the high bids doesn’t matter if not many people are clicking the ads.

As a reward for his high CTR, the traffic source will give him a discount. Even Mr C though he’s paying .45 now, he might be able to lower his bids to $.37 cpc and still get traffic. This is their incentive for Mr C to keep split testing and aiming for a higher click-through rate. Everyone wins because more people click the ads and Mr C gets cheaper clicks.

This is a major part of dominating a traffic source. Learn how to be a better create better ads and get high click-through rates.

Flat Rate

Flat rate just means you buy all the impressions at a set rate. Website A has 10,000,000 impressions a month. You do a small test and see that it’s profitable. You could buy out the website or a certain placement for the entire week or month. When you do this, you can get a big discount.

There was one traffic placement that was insanely profitable for me a while back. How did I dominate? I bought every single ad on there by pre-paying for it a few months in advance.

If you’re using Traffic Source A and you see that a certain website is very profitable, is there a way to cut the middle man and go direct? You can get a significant discount.

Of course there are risks. One is you’re wiring a significant amount of cash. Another is what if your offer goes down or gets capped? Make sure you have backups ready. Also it’s always good to start small and build your way up.

Bidding Strategies

For bidding strategies it’s all about experimentation. There are no golden rules; what works at one place could be the exact opposite strategy at another.

  • Bid low first,  then raise your bids
  • Bid high first, then lower your bids
  • Bid exactly what their suggested bid is
  • How fast do you adjust bids?
  • Different traffic sources calculate your new bids at different times.
  • Bidding Cost Per Click vs CPM.
  • Run of network traffic vs direct placements
  • Some places give you a bonus if you have a high campaign limit. (Warning: Be careful. If you are going to create a super high spending limit on your account, watch it closely and make sure everything backs out).
  • Some places give you a bonus if you have a lot of $ in your prepaid balance.
  • Sometimes bidding higher can be more profitable because you get access to better placements. Think about it, it’s classic supply & demand.

Start small. Become profitable first before you try to get more traffic. Don’t set a higher spend limit than what you can afford.

Test. Experiment.

Going to War

I love this shit.

This is where you and another guy are the #1 and #2 guys and you’re fighting for the top spot.

My best advice is to really focus on increasing your profit margins. Higher CTR ads, better landing page, better offer, higher payout on the offer, better lead quality, etc. The higher your profit margin, the higher you can afford to bid.

There’s also some more advanced concepts to bidding like game theory. Lets say I am #2 with a $.35CPM bid. The top guy is at #1 with a $.40 CPM. If I try to outbid him with $.43, he might outbid me again to $.45. The higher the bid goes, we both lose. 

Another concept is what I call reverse engineering. I can see his landing pages, offers, get an idea of his payouts, ads, etc. and roughly calculate his profit margins. I can get an idea if my margins are higher than his and bid accordingly.

Also a lot of other strategies, but I’m going to keep those to myself.


Pick a traffic source and try to figure out what their algorithm is for the bidding process and find the sweet spot. Do you want massive volume or would you rather have a lower volume but more profitable?

Are there any tricks you can find to get the most traffic with the lowest bids?

This article took a lot of time and experience to write so sharing it is much appreciated.

How to Master & Dominate Traffic Sources P2


Part 1 – Introduction

Welcome to part 2 of my series. Hopefully I’ve convinced you it’s better to specialize in a type of traffic source instead of bouncing around. Before I get too deep into this, I want to talk more about the traffic sources themselves and get familiar with them.

The main differences in traffic sources depends on where the traffic’s fromoptimization variables. and offer matches.

Where the traffic’s from – Pretty simple. Is it from cell phones, social media websites, ads on Google. Different places have different audiences. 

Optimization variables –  Every single campaign has the same basic principles. Find the best offer, obtain higher payouts, test direct linking vs. landing pages, test which landing pages work best, etc. Optimization variables are the extra things to test which are specific to the traffic source. With mobile you have to see which carrier converts better. In Facebook you can test age and gender. Adwords brings something called quality score.

Offer Matches – Some traffic sources “fit” with certain offers better than others. Imagine you’re buying traffic from porn site. A large majority of the audience are guys so it wouldn’t make sense to try to send them anti-aging wrinkle cream. If there’s a gaming website with a large kid audience, advertising online casinos would be a very bad idea.

I can categorize most of the traffic sources into 7 different types and here’s a brief look at each of them and some of my experiences.

Traffic Sources


Introduction: PPV networks install toolbars on people’s computers (with their permission), and in exchange the PPV network advertises to their computer via pop-unders. Why would people allow these advertisements? Well the toolbars are things like wallpapers, weather, and other novelty things people install.

What happens is if Bob visits a site like, it could trigger a “pop under” from the traffic source. He won’t see it until he minimizes his browser. Another interesting thing to note is doesn’t receive any $, it all goes to the PPV network.

The beauty of PPV is the targeting. Advertising on a site like is very expensive, PPV allows you to target that demographic at a fraction of the cost.

Affiliate Marketing Example: An affiliate could have an offer for a free credit report. What kind of websites would people visit if they needed a credit report? Buying a home, buying a car, visiting personal finance websites, etc. Run traffic to those sites, eliminate the placements that don’t make money.
Traffic Sources: Traffic Vance, LeadImpact
Optimization Variables: Placements
Offer Matches: Credit Reports, Financial, Software downloads, etc. This type of traffic is very flexible and just depends on the placements you target.
Pro tips: You need a very strong server due to the amount of traffic you’re sending.


Introduction: Advertising on cell phones. Super high growth, especially in Asian and Latin American countries. The downside is that the optimization process involves a lot more work than what most marketers are use to.
Affiliate Marketing Example: Promote a debit card offer. What kind of guys are most likely to convert for this offer? Young broke people. What kind of carriers does this demographic use? They’re probably not using iPhones /w a $100 a month contact – more than likely they are using a feature phone and pre-paid phone carriers.  
Traffic Sources:
 Mmedia, Airpush, Leadbolt, Tapit!, InMobi, Adfonic, admob
Optimization Variables: Types of ads (push vs banners), Carriers, Handsets, Operating System
Offer Matches: Sweepstakes offers (win an iPhone), mobile dating, mobile gaming, app installs, lead gens
Pro Tips: Proper Mobile tracking is a must. Mobaff & ImobiTrax are what the top guys use. Also for mobile, test all the ad sizes.

A great map of mobile traffic sources put together by the guys at IMGrind


Introduction: The benefits of advertising here is we have never had so much specific information on people. While most places you target by a website someone visits, social sources allow you to narrow in on who they are. The users voluntarily fill in their real age, gender, what college they went, what are their favorite shows, etc.
Affiliate Marketing Example: Gaming is always a solid niche on Facebook that you can direct link. Get really aggressive with testing the images to get a CTR as high as possible so that your clicks are cheaper. Be careful targeting kids under 18 as it could be hard for the advertiser to monetize causing you to get kicked off the offer.
Traffic Sources: Facebook, PlentyofFish
Optimization Variables: Age, gender, interests. POF has a lot of unique targeting options such as login count
Offers that work: Dating dominates PlentyofFish. For Facebook gaming / dating are quite popular. They actually don’t allow a lot of offers on the platform to provide a better user experience, however with properly cloaking you can get a lot of things through.
Pro tips: It’s all about CTR. I would say for a social ad Image > headline > ad text > call to action text. Don’t forget to mess with effects in the images – make them sharper, add a border, photoshop some effects, etc.

Plenty of Fish provides a lot of room for creativity due to their targeting options

Adult Traffic

Introduction: Some people estimate that 30% of all internet traffic is porn related. Things have exploded the past few years due to youtube-style sites that offer free porn. With this large amount of traffic, advertisers and affiliates have been able to figure out ways to monetize it.
Affiliate Marketing Example: Casual dating offer + tube site traffic.
Optimization Variables: Placements, Ad Format (Banner, In-Video, text, etc.), Site Targeting (Choosing specific websites vs. every site on the network)
Traffic Sources: TrafficJunky, Exoclick, JuicyAds, Adxpansion, Plugrush, etc.
Offer Matches: Casual Dating, Male Enhancement Products
Pro Tips: If you’re doing casual dating then focus on lead quality. If things are too competitive and expensive on the popular traffic sources, explore some less saturated ones. Also, go international.


Introduction: This is where Google makes all their money. If someone searches for “car insurance” then they have a buyers intent and more likely to convert if they click on car insurance ads in the search results.
Affiliate Marketing Example: Lets say you wanna go with my car insurance example. Most of the top car insurance keywords are wayyy out of your budget due to competition with Geico, Progressive, Allstate, and the rest of the guys with large war chests. You’re more likely to be profitable by focusing on long tail keywords such as “Car insurance in Atlanta” or “Honda Civic Insurance” that have less competition and cheaper bids.
Traffic Sources: Adwords, BingAds
Optimization Variables: Quality Score, bids / position
Offer Matches: Pretty much anything works here due keyword targeting.
Pro Tip: Google Content Network is amazing. Lots of traffic and you don’t have to deal with quality score. Bing has a lot of traffic and are more affiliate friendly compared to Google.

CPC Networks

Introduction: A combination of media buys / ppc. They feature either text ads or a image / text ad hybrid and you pay on a CPC basis. The main benefit of these networks is they have a lot of volume due to some of their placements.  
Optimization Variables:
Site placements, Ad CTR
Traffic Sources: Pulse360, Adsonar, Adblade
Offer Matches: Health & Beauty
Pro Tip: Not for the newbies due to higher CPC costs

Media Buys

Introduction: Purchasing display banners on websites. You can either do this through an ad network, or buy directly from a website for a flat fee. They always run on a CPM basis, and can have pretty high minimum deposits required. 
Optimization Variables:
Site Placements 
Traffic Sources: Sitescout, Valueclick, TribalFusion, etc.
Offer Matches: Health & Beauty, Dating
Pro Tip: Get brutal with split testing your creatives and removing non-performing placements.

What to Choose?

Each one of these places there are guys making thousands of dollars a day in profit. There’s no “best” traffic source.

If you’re brand new then I’d suggest: Mobile, Social, and Adult. I mentor a lot of people and those are the places I’ve seen newbies succeed a little easier in. Another consideration is they’re relatively friendly if you have a small budget.

Stayed tuned for part 3 next week! Don’t forget to comment and share this article if you like it

Tips on Networking With More Successful People

A key part of growth is to improve your network.

Study the biography of any successful person and you can see how key relationships accelerated their growth.

Small problem though – Most of us aren’t born into great connections. You have to start from scratch and develop relationships with people you admire if you want them in your network.

That’s something I’m still doing to this day. There are people more successful than me in certain areas, and I want to learn from them.

On the other hand, I’ve had various people reach out and want to meet me in person. Most of these meetings I’ve had have turned out pretty bad from my perspective.

I’m not scolding anyone I’ve met in the past. I’m writing this article because I really want you to succeed. Being a good networker requires social intuition and that can only come from experience and time. I hope I can speed up your journey with some of the big learnings I’ve had over the past decade.

Lets say you’ve secured a meeting with someone. These tips could be the difference between a one-time meeting and a real friendship developing.

1. Respect The Person’s Time

Acknowledge that they are busy and thank them for their time. For example, “I know you’re busy, and I really appreciate your time today. I wanted to meet you because I really respect you and you’re definitely someone worth knowing.” Be humble and flatter them.

Keep the meeting short and concise. If it’s just coffee then 30 minutes is good.

DO NOT under any circumstances be late.

Also you want to make it as CONVENIENT as possible for the person. Schedule the meeting at THEIR convenience and at a location NEAR them. If you live an hour apart, then you’re commuting for 55 minutes to meet them.

Remember that they are doing you a favor by meeting with you.

2. You’re Paying

Having dinner or coffee? Pick up the bill.

It doesn’t matter that the guy is 100x richer than you are. The point is to show your appreciation for them taking their time out to meet with you.

If I find myself at a stripclub next to Zuckerberg, then you can bet he has unlimited access to my credit card.

Here what the god of Asia, Li Ka-Sheng has to say

Second set of funds: To make friends, expand your interpersonal circle. This will make you well off. Your phone bills can be budgeted at $100. You can buy your friends 2 lunches a month, each at $150. Who should you buy lunch for? Always remember to buy lunch for people who are more knowledgeable than you, richer than you or people who have helped you in your career. Make sure you do that every month. After one year, your circle of friends should have generated tremendous value for you. Your reputation, influence, added value will be clearly recognized. You’ll also enhance your image of being good and generous.

3. It’s NOT a Consultation Session

This is BIG.

I meet fans because I want to get to know them as a person, or I just want to hang out. The LAST thing I want to do is get grilled for an hour about affiliate marketing.

Put yourself in the person’s shoes. Lets say he’s a paid consultant whose time is worth $1,000 an hour. It’s rude to spend an hour ask non-stop questions as if you’re a client.

It’s ok to ask questions here and there, but be self-aware.

Also if you do ask questions, make them count. Don’t ask questions that the person has answered 100x on their blog already. When you ask really basic questions then it shows you haven’t really put the time in to learn.

4. DO NOT Make the Entire Conversation About Yourself

This is a rule from the book INFLUENCE by Dale Carnegie.

People love talking about themselves.

Don’t make the conversation about you. It should be 80% asking about them, and 20% about you. Make sure you really LISTEN to what they’re saying.

Show them you’ve done your homework. I like to ask questions that show I’m a huge fan.

Example: I met up with a reader and he just talked to me like an old friend. We talked about traveling, girls, bodybuilding, and philosophy.

He didn’t ask me anything about business or affiliate marketing. It showed me he valued me as a person, rather than just “extract as much value out of him as possible.”

We became good friends. When he finally did ask for help in the industry, I bent over backwards to help him out. The guys who spend an hour asking me for affiliate marketing help? I don’t really see a point of keeping in touch.

5. Ask What’s the Best Way to Stay in Touch.

The conversation’s about to be over and you probably want to keep in touch with this guy. Remember that you want to do it at their convenience.

Example: “Hey man this was an amazing 30 minutes and I learned a lot from you. Thank you. Is there anyway we could keep in touch? I’m not going to be those guys that messages you 10 times a day with stupid questions.”

6. Offer Value

This guy has just helped you. Is there anyway you can help them?

I have different skills I can offer people: optimize their landing pages, help them out with their paid campaigns, or even just promote their brand / product to my audience.

I offer my services to let them know I’m not a leech, and that I’m someone worth getting to know.

Is there anything you can offer the person? I know it can be tough if you’re a newbie and the guy doesn’t seem like he needs much.

That’s why it’s important to LISTEN.

Hey man if there’s anything you ever need just let me know. If there’s anyone way I could be of help to you don’t hesitate to ask me”

8 Hacks to Squeeze More Profits Out of Your Campaigns

Who doesn’t want to make more profits from their campaigns?

Every campaign you launch has the potential to make life-changing money.

But sometimes you’ll test and optimize to get a campaign profitable… and it only makes a few dollars per day.

What do you do?

Ditch the campaign, because $2.50 profit per day won’t turn you into Dan Bilzerian, or
Try to squeeze more from it?

It’s a tough call, but here are my thoughts on when to ditch a campaign to help you out.

There were some affiliates a few years back that made a killing with hundreds of laser-targeted campaigns on PoF.

They each brought in a couple of bucks a day.

I admire the dedication and ingenuity there, but creating and monitoring a million little campaigns would drive me crazy. It’s so fidgety, there’s no scale, and it sounds like it’d be a nightmare operation.

Having 2-3 campaigns pulling in $1k each per day versus 1,000 campaigns pulling in $2-3 each day?

Smart, successful affiliates would much rather build scalable campaigns.

Creating winning campaigns is tough, but it’s MUCH easier to improve the ROI of an existing campaign, than to start fresh.

It’s like that old sales quote: “It’s 5x easier to upsell an existing customer than sell a new customer”.

So don’t get disappointed that your campaign isn’t a home run yet.

You worked your ass off to get this campaign profitable, or near to break even. It’s time to make some decent profits on it.


1.     Test Other GEOs

IMG 0853

I can’t get over how many affiliates forget that there are other countries outside the United States (especially with adult dating).

USA has the 3rd largest population in the world, but you don’t NEED a target market of 300 million+ people.

USA is too competitive for most newbies, and a lot of intermediate affiliates.

Take a look at some of the other biggest countries in the world and you’ll see Brazil, Pakistan, Indonesia, China etc. Hundreds of millions of consumers + cheap clicks = huge opportunity.

There are tons of untapped markets for offers that accept traffic in multiple GEOs. Why not try testing your profitable campaigns in some of them?

Never heard of Uzbekistan or Burkina Faso?


Most people will only run traffic in countries that seem familiar to them – it’s a basic cognitive bias that you have to overcome.

The bids in most countries are a lot cheaper than US, since far fewer people are targeting them. Conversions are often much higher as well, since these neglected markets don’t have banner blindness by trigger happy affiliates.

If I’m exploring new GEOs, I try to keep everything exactly the same. The same lander, same ads and same targeting (except for the country and language). You want to isolate the country, so it’s the only variable that changes.

I also go broad when testing GEOs.

I’m not going to test Australia, Canada, New Zealand and United Kingdom as new GEOs.

Why not?

They are too similar. They are English speaking, high incomes, high bid prices, high GDP, and higher payout offers.

I’ll test India, Brazil, Iran, Kenya and Estonia.

These countries are radically different from each other – language, custom, culture, income etc. One of these places might be a gold mine for any number of reasons.

Most affiliates are too lazy to translate and learn about new countries. This is an opportunity for you to take your already testing landers/ads and run them in a new GEO.

Here’s a bonus tip: you can create angles based on the region/culture to get more profits.

2.     Commit to Continual Optimization

How Split Testing Tools Simplify the Task of Testing Complex Pages Affiliate marketing isn’t neatly split between profitable and unprofitable campaigns. Unprofitable campaigns can (sometimes) be turned around, and a profitable campaign can always be made better.

In either case, test new headlines, new images and new landers. The best way to boost your profit is to keep testing.

The BIG WIN is to test new offers.

If you’ve only tested 3 offers, you’re just lazy bro.

Go into your affiliate network dashboard and apply for 20 offers to test.

Don’t assume your current offer is the best because it has a slick landing page or requires fewer steps. You can’t tell what offers convert the best until you test them.

Testing new offers requires almost no extra effort on your part and can make a HUGE increase to your ROI.

It’s literally 30 seconds –  clicking a button inside your affiliate network dashboard, and setting it up in Voluum.

Getting the campaign profitable is the hard part – now it’s time to have fun.

Get creative, test new angles, crazy headlines and weird images.

Think of it is this way – you have a campaign that’s making you $5 a day with a 100% ROI. If you keep testing it, you can boost it to $10 a day. Big deal, right?

Well, yeah, it’s actually a very big deal. You’re planning on scaling this campaign, remember?

Down the road, doubling your ROI won’t make the difference between having a $5 and $10 a day campaign.

It’ll make the difference between a $500 and $1,000 a day campaign.

3.     Ask for Payment Bumps

increase payout

If you’re driving quality traffic, your AM should be willing to grant a payment bump. They want to encourage you to push as much volume as you can (as long as the lead quality is good).

Don’t just take the payment bump and use it as a bonus.

Think about how you can use your higher payout to get squeeze out more traffic. Maybe site IDs that weren’t profitable before are now. Or maybe you can now bid higher and see how your volume increases.

Maybe this means you can get the campaign profitable on a bigger traffic source with more volume.

Always be thinking like a businessman – how can you use an increased revenue to get even more revenue?

So the question is: How do you get a payment bump?

Let’s use some psychology. You have to ask and phrase it to benefit them.

“Hey John can I get a pay bump on my my iPhone offer?”


“Hey John, I’m losing money right now on the iPhone offer and might have to stop running it. I did some calculations and if I were to get $.50 more I could make money and scale this campaign.

I already talked to a few other networks and they’re willing to give me that payout. But I really enjoy working with you and your network.

If you can up the payout then I’ll do my best to increase the volume.”

Which answer is better?

Always be thinking from THEIR point of view.

They won’t give you a pay bump just ‘cause you want more money. But if you’re able to make it a win/win – why wouldn’t they hook you up?

4.     Split Test Networks

split testing

This is yet another test that 99% of affiliates never try. They see the same offer on a couple of networks and just run with whichever one has the highest payout. Why not, it’s the same offer right?

Not at all. Even the SAME OFFER can convert very differently on different affiliate networks.

Why? Advertisers may scrub more harshly on some networks than others. Networks use different technology to track conversions or payment processing.

I can’t tell you the number of times I got a higher ROI with the network with the lower payout.

This is a really easy split-test that can give you 20% ROI.

5.     Learn the Traffic Source Inside and Outs

Regardless of their chosen traffic source, successful affiliates have one thing in common.

They’ve learned to dominate it to get more volume, cheaper bids and higher conversions.

The single best way to master a good traffic source is to use ONLY that traffic source.

  • You’ll come up with your own little hacks that’ll help you create campaigns quickly and boost your ROI.
  • You’ll discover what offers and verticals work best on it
  • You discover the best placements/ad sizes
  • You can do some insider deals with the traffic source if you push enough volume

This is one of the biggest reasons behind a super affiliate’s success – they become a master at one traffic type.

6.     Network with Major Players


Forming relationships is a great way to skyrocket your affiliate career. This doesn’t just mean building relationships with other affiliates. You want to build relationships with everyone that can help you turn your small campaigns into beasts.

The most successful affiliates thrive by building the following relationships.


Too many affiliates have almost no contact with their affiliate manager or other people from their top networks. They ping their AM once or twice a month to request a payment bump and that’s about it.

You’ll do a lot better if you recognize the importance of having strong relationships with these people. They can go to bat for you if you have a special request (like joining a private offer or asking for permission to run on an unapproved traffic source).

They can also give you the lowdown on the offers that are converting the best and the angles that work.

Plus if your AM likes you, they might give you automatic pay bumps just ‘cause you’re pals.

Traffic sources

You may have spent $10k testing your chosen traffic source, but you still won’t know it nearly as well as the guys that manage it.

Make friends with them. They can give you a lot of tips to get more traffic and boost your ROI. They want to see you thrive, especially if you’re spending a lot of money with them.

The more traffic you buy from them, the more they won’t want to lose you.

Most affiliates only think of their AMs because you don’t often talk to your traffic source manager. Big mistake.

Shoot them an email, introduce yourself, and get on their radar.


I’d say that 99% of affiliates never meet the advertisers they push traffic to. You can open a lot of new doors by reaching out to them. Getting to know the advertisers lets you:

  • Get access to other offers that aren’t listed on your network
  • Push for better payment bumps
  • Go direct with them for more profits
  • Get insider tips on new angles and demographic targeting
  • Get approved for different traffic sources other affiliates aren’t given access to

Advertisers love their best affiliates. Give them a shout out and see how you can make them (and you) more money.

Where do you meet advertisers (the offer owners)?

  • Conferences – big advertisers will be at Affiliate Worlds and Affiliate Summits
  • Email them – you might be able to find their details on offer page
  • Get your affiliate manager to point you to them (although they probably won’t want you to go direct, so they may not do this)

You should also network with other marketers who us your traffic source. Affiliate marketing may seem like a profession for lone wolves, but it’s much more powerful to have small masterminds.

7.     Day Parting

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I get a lot of questions about day parting.

It seems like a popular way to optimize campaigns. Possibly too popular, which is why I didn’t put it at the top of my list.

Don’t give me wrong – day parting has its place. It can turn some of your “meh” campaigns into real winners. But overall I don’t recommend it very often.

The problem is that loads of affiliates think day parting is a silver bullet to turning break even campaigns into ones with 100% ROI. They start messing with day parting features without enough data and often end up tanking otherwise good marketing campaigns.

So when do you start day parting?

Answer: After you’ve tested everything else to death, OR, if you’re on an ULTRA tight budget and you can’t afford to run traffic for full days.

For example, if you’re trying to run a RON campaign on mobile, some traffic sources don’t let you spread your budget out through the day.

You might decide to run at night when people are home from work and in a more relaxed (buying) frame of mind. This can give you a better chance of getting profitable, especially if you bid high and your budget gets used up quickly.

You need to be certain you can’t get a positive ROI during certain hours before pausing your ads.

Suppose you’re running a dating campaign with the following data:

  • You got 22 leads between 5 AM and 6 PM.
  • You got 45 leads between 6 PM and 5 AM.

Most affiliates with this campaign would pause their ads between 5 AM and 6 PM. This could actually be a really bad move.

But why? Aren’t you getting fewer leads during those hours?

Yeah, but that could just be because there’s less volume during those hours. If bids are lower and conversion rates are almost as good, you may even be getting a higher ROI and more profit during the hours you get the fewest leads.

You don’t want to day part based on when you get the most leads. You need to factor for the amount of money you spent during those hours. Never pause your ads during hours they’re profitable.

8.        Build a List

email list1

You’ve probably already heard this a million times: “The money is in your list.”

While so many people emphasize the importance of list building, new CPA marketers don’t do much with it. It’s a lot of work and many CPA networks don’t allow email traffic from most of their offers.

Yet, for many niches, building a list can be a powerful way to monetize your traffic.

Why not kill two birds with one stone? You’re already pushing traffic to your landers. Sometimes you can capture emails from your leads before referring them to the advertiser.

Now you can upsell those leads to higher paying offers or push lots of other offers to them.

You can also look into directing people to an opt-in page if they aren’t interested in your offer. If you’re good at coding, or you’ve got a good tech contractor, this is something to consider.

Start Squeezing Your Campaigns

Successful affiliate marketers got that way because they’re never satisfied. They see a positive campaign ROI and, rather than sitting back on their asses, they think, “How can I get even more out of this?”

Be that guy. Be the guy who isn’t satisfied with mediocre profits or a few dollars a day trickling into your accounts. Use the tips above to take even your most successful campaigns to the next level.

Which one of these tips will you commit to trying this week?

Leave me a comment below with the action steps you plan on taking:

Fundraising Done For YOU

At Absolutely No Cost to Your Organization or Your Membership– Ever!

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 I will run an email campaign to your members FREE


To Join Our Fund Raising Program Simply Click Here

It is the goal of the Solutions Network to provide maximum needed information and opportunity to the widest possible range of individuals, companies, and fund raising organizations.  If you or your organization is in need of new sources of revenue to continue your good works, consider the Solutions Network Fundraising Program.

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First: increase the revenues needed to continue and enhance your organization’s fine works,

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While helping your members, we help you in your fund raising efforts.

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Plus you will have my personal support through everything you may need. So no stress for your organization, simply a funding source. Though things your clients are already using.

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No matter which you choose, you will raise funds, and it will never cost your organization or members a dime.

We have done our best to make your fund raising efforts as quick and easy as possible.  You actually need to do nothing other than simply copy, past and edit, at will, the following letter and send it as an email or letter to your entire membership.  You have 4 Fundraising Methods that you can utilize.


First  Method– Membership Fund Raising- Contact your membership only.

If using this method, all you need to do is send this email and on any purchase made from the Gift Sites and

and 15% of each purchase is donated to your organization.

To make sure that our system keys in all your members orders as coming from a Fund Raising Organization we ask that letters and correspondence append an “FN” to your ID code. 

So, the code for your members to use in order to be certain that you get credit for merchandise purchase is

FR QB55848

Second Method– ALSO, Help Other Fund Raising Organizations.

If you also choose to use Method 2, all that you need to is to send them to Your Fund Raising Assistance Page.  When the organization signs up, you will automatically be credited so that you receive donations from all the purchases and sales made from the members of their organization.

Third Method– Offering Business and Financial Services

If you choose this method, all you do is send an email with the links to various services that we offer through you.  When a member clicks on a link or orders a service, it is automatically keyed to you and your organization receives the appropriate donation amount.  A sample letter is here.

Fourth Method– Offer a FREE Business Opportunity to Each of Your Members.

To use this method, all you do is send a simple email to your membership, letting them know that a company has created a system that will allow your members to earn money without investment and that by doing so, they are actually helping raise money for your organization.  In the email have a link to your Organization’s Site.   

Your organization will then receive donations in exactly the same manner and same amount as would an individual.

This means that your organization will then be receiving all earned income streams within the ASN system as would an individual that had developed a similar downline.

We understand that there may be a certain reticence in offering your membership what appears to be in effect a business opportunity.  That is understandable, but you can be assured that this is unlike any other business, it is absolutely without risk, requires no investment whatsoever, no expenses of any kind, it is Impossible to lose a dime. 

Before offering it to your membership, please examine it.  But use the simple overview that we have done here. If you have questions that aren’t answered on the next page, please contact me, and I will gladly chat about your concerns before you get started. We have nothing to hide.



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First Join HERE:


Membership Letter Business and Financial Services


Dear Member,


The Solutions Network is offering the members of Quincy Barnes a large array of business and financial services ranging from Home Loans, Credit Services, Bankruptcy, Free Credit Repair Manual, Tax and Back Tax services, etc… all at reduced fees and in some cases free.


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Thankfully, most of our members have no need for these services.  But for those that do, we felt that it was incumbent upon us to let our members know they have options… and, if needed… these services are not financially out of reach.


By special arrangement with the Solutions Network we have agreed that all services provided will be substantially below normal fees and that a substantial portion of all fees charges will be given to Quincy Barnes to further our charitable causes.


Following are a few links to some of the available services.  We’re praying that you don’t need them.  But if you do, We pray that the will be of help.


ASN FINANCIAL SERVICES- One stop comprehensive page that provides access to numerous financial service ranging from free tax information to sources of free credit assistance.


HOME LOANS— a huge assortment of home loans that work for everyone from upper income, great credit to low income, no down, and even bad credit purchasers.  We do things on a daily basis that other lenders simply can not or will not do!  We will always provide the best service and best terms for your members,


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BANKRUPTCY— We prepare all forms necessary for the filing.  All you have to do is drop it off at the courthouse.



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Our deepest thanks to you for your continuing support.




Your Name)



Membership Letter.Gift Giving

You can feel free to use this as a guide or template for your membership awareness campaign. We can even run it for you.

Let us know how we can help you be successful.


Dear Member,

The Quincy Barnes proudly introduces and

At this site you will find a breathtaking selection of items from all over the world… Watches, Jewelry, Toys, Decor, Fashion, etc.  Quality and Value are the hallmarks of these sites. and, with great items for the whole family.

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Your purchases will importantly benefit the Quincy Barnes.  By special arrangement, a substantial portion of the price of every item you select will go directly into our own fund!  You get not only the pleasures and enjoyment of exquisite products, you can actually take pride in knowing that you are further supporting the achievements our fine organization.

Feel free to order as much and as often as you wish.  Just visit and, make your selection and during the order process when you are asked for Your Name or ASN ID#…  simply enter  FR QB55848

In 10 to 14 days your selection is delivered right to your door and you’ve helped us continue our good works.


By special arrangement the Solutions Network now provides an array of Products, Services, Information, much of it is free.

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The Beginner’s Guide to Getting Joint Ventures

Nearly every day someone approaches me about doing a joint venture because as you know, joint ventures are a marvelous way to get your product in front of a lot of people quickly. Better yet, getting your joint venture partner’s recommendation can significantly increase both sales and sign ups onto your own list. But that’s the good news – the bad news is anyone with a list gets approached day in and day out by numerous JV seekers, and the vast majority of those requests are either ignored or rejected.

So how can you be the one who receives the coveted “yes” answer next time you approach someone for a joint venture?

Here are 4 techniques that I’ve found work especially well…

First, make your initial contact all about the joint venture partner and NOT about you. Instead of telling them what’s in it for you, tell them what’s in it for them. I don’t know how many times I’ve received emails that go something like this: “I need you to promote my new product to your list because then I can make sales and add people to my own list. Oh yes, and I’ll pay you 50% commission.”

Whoopee. Can you imagine the excitement a list owner feels when receiving an email like this? There’s a reason this type of email doesn’t even get a response. Look, everyone is tuned into that same radio station you’ve heard so much about, WIIFM: What’s In It For Me? A list owner can get 50% in commissions anytime and anywhere without having to do a joint venture.

This is why it is imperative that you stand apart from the crowd and offer the list owner something far more valuable than 50% on sales. Think for a moment – what is it that you’re really good at? Is it writing articles? Building squeeze pages? Writing sales copy? Social Marketing? Whatever it is, offer your potential JV partner your service in exchange for promoting your product, along with a good commission.

For example, if you’re good at writing articles, offer to write a dozen or more on the topics of their choice and pay them 50 -70% commission on sales. Now this is an offer that is likely to get their attention. Sure it’s going to take you some extra time, but so what? You’ll be making sales, building your list, and most importantly, forging a relationship with your new JV partner.

Second, consider giving away all of your commission on the front end product. If your product converts well and sells for a good price, this will get the attention of many list owners. You’ll capture their attention even faster if you also pay immediate commissions or set it up so that commissions are paid straight into their Paypal account.

Why would you give away all of your commissions? You’re not. First of all, you’re building your list with buyers, and buyers are wonderful indeed when it comes to promoting other products in the future. In fact, it’s been estimated that one buyer on your list is worth as many as 35 freebie seekers in terms of future revenue. Second, by placing a one time offer in the sales sequence you can also make money up front. You can either keep 100% of the commissions on the OTO, or split the commissions with your partner.

Third, treat your JV Partner like someone more important than an affiliate. Set up a deal in which several JV Partners and yourself contribute products into one big product package, and then launch the package just as you would a product. Divide the commissions accordingly  and everyone wins because everyone promotes to their own lists, ensuring there is plenty of exposure to the offer. Plus, each participant grows their own list full of new purchasers of the event.

Another possibility – work together to create a new product. This doesn’t have to mean the two of you sit down in a room together and hammer out the product. Rather, each of you would complete certain portions of it on your own as a collaboration. For example, you might write the intro, they write the outline, you fill the outline in, you create the video and they write the sales letter (just an example, it will differ wildly for everyone.) You can even do a collaboration with 3 or more JV Partners. Just think – the more partners involved, the more lists you can promote your new product to.

Fourth, warm up your potential JV Partner before you pop the JV question. Instead of immediately asking them for a JV, ask them for an interview instead. Or ask if you can promote their latest product, or ask if you can write an article about them for your blog, etc. In other words, see what you can do to help them first. If you are sincere about this, the law of reciprocity will kick in, and sooner or later they’ll want to repay the favor. That’s why when you ask them down the road to promote your high quality product, they probably won’t even hesitate to say yes.

Okay, But What Do I Write in My JV Proposal?

That first email to a potential JV Partner is scary, isn’t it? What should you say? What shouldn’t you say? Will they reply? Will they think you’re some schmuck hayseed from the sticks?

First of all, don’t worry about getting rejected. Everyone gets rejected now and then, and online it’s usually a simple matter of being ignored. If this happens, realize that they may not have seen your email and send it to them again. Be nice, be respectful, and be persistent. After all, you’ve got nothing to lose by asking.

But there are ways to greatly increase your chances of getting that JV by simply doing the right things in your email. What I recommend…

  • Be personal, warm and friendly. Imagine you’re writing to your mother or father – you’d go out of your way to be polite.


  • Reference something recent they’ve done. Maybe it’s their latest product or blog post – mention something about it so they know you’ve actually read the post or purchased the product.


  • Play to their ego. Praise the post, product or whatever it is that you’re mentioning. NOTE: Praise it in a direct, specific and honest way. Don’t just say, “Great post, man!” Instead, say something like, “Thanks so much for the video creation tips – I’m going to follow your advice because I’ve learned first hand that your methods work.” A general compliment works too if you’ve been reading their content for awhile and can say so.


  • Get to the point. Don’t write 3 pages on your personal history of Internet Marketing. Get to the crux of your communication, which is your proposal.


  • Propose your plan. Again, don’t waffle and don’t digress. Get to the point and let them know what you’re suggesting.


  • Be an authority. This isn’t the time to brag or boast, but it is the time to let them know that you’re experienced. JV Partners aren’t looking to hold your hand, they’re looking to do deals that put new buyers and new money in their pocket.


  • If you’ve got proof, use it. For example, if you’re proposing a collaboration on a traffic product and you’re good at getting traffic, show them a link to a few screen shots of your traffic. You’re putting their mind at ease that you know what you’re doing.


  • Outline the deal without a lot of detail. If you’re proposing they keep 100% on the front end and 50% of the back end, say so. Don’t tell them which hosting company you use or what hours you work.


  • Ask. Ask them for feedback, to do the deal, whatever. Close with a call to action so that it’s super clear the next move is theirs and you’re looking for a response. Again, you’re not dictating – you’re simply being professional in a warm, friendly manner.

Send and wait for a response. Don’t expect them to fall all over themselves in gratitude that you wrote. If the answer comes back negative, write back and tell them thank you very much for considering it, and you look forward to an opportunity to perhaps work with them in the future. Don’t rant or rave or get nasty – the last thing you want to do is slam the door on future opportunities.

If the answer comes back as anything other than a no, then odds are it can develop into a definite yes, but only IF you don’t fumble the ball. The typical response you get back is going to be for more information. Provide it and answer any questions they give you. Keep in mind that the things they are likely looking for in a potential JV Partner are…

  • Confidence and professionalism. Do you know what you’re doing? Are you capable?
  • Experience. What is your experience as related to the topic of this JV? What are you bringing to the table?
  • Trustworthy and reliable. Will you do what you say? Can they trust you?

As to what a JV Partner is looking for in the JV itself…

  • No huge time commitments. Big commitments are scary and stressful, small ones are much less so. Don’t ask them to write a 300 page ebook for your JV – it isn’t going to happen.
  • Enhanced reputation. Is this a quality product that provides lots of value? Or are you looking for the quick buck?
  • More buyers for their own list. If you can bring buyers to the table, you’ve got a powerful motivation for them to participate.
  • Money. Of course this is often (but not always) a motivator – how much money might they make in relation to the time invested? However, don’t assume this is their primary motivation. A good marketer knows that growing their list of buyers provides far more income on a long term basis than making quick money today. And no decent marketer wants to make a quick buck if it risks their reputation with their list.

Next you will iron out the details, go above and beyond the expectation of your partner every chance you get and run the best Joint Venture you possibly can. Hopefully it is a great success. And no matter the outcome, there is still one more step to take before you’re done, and that is to thank your JV Partner in a memorable manner. Why? Because many marketers do several JV’s a month, and if you’re not memorable, they may not say yes the next time you ask. Do a little research, find out what they like, and then send it to them. Does he like cigars? Is she partial to good coffee? It doesn’t have to be expensive because it’s not about the money, it’s about saying THANK YOU!!!

Believe me, I still remember a JV Partner I worked with 5 years ago who sent me a very nice gift in the mail. And even though we’ve since lost touch, were he to contact me today for another JV, I would almost certainly say yes. And for him (and for you), that’s like money in the bank.